Living Positive by Design Officially Launches!

Hey Kids! I’m back from the beginning of my whirlwind tour promoting my new HIV education initiative supported by Merck, Living Positive by Design and it was an amazing success! I’m trying to start blogging on a semi-regular basis so fingers crossed. I heart sleep deprivation! The campaign launched at the U.S. Conference on AIDS [link] and I couldn’t be more excited about how it went!! After catching a red-eye -not cute- I arrived at the conference which was in Ft. Lauderdale, so obviously I was in a thong and sarong (so-wrong) for most of the event. Actually I walked in the opening fashion show and they wanted me to wear a gold thong and angel wings which was quickly nixed. As if.

My first speech was to launch Living Positive by Design, which is a program to combat stigma associated with with HIV and inspire my poz comrades to think positively (pun intended?) and forge on while still keeping their health in check. It’s really important to keep people abreast of what it’s like to live with HIV TODAY and how treatment can help poz individuals live a long healthy life by reducing their viral load. So get out there and get tested if you haven’t already so you can be safe and start living healthy! GO!! Anyhoo, after being positive for almost 20 years I have a good handle on the issues surrounding living with HIV and it feels nice to be doing something to help others like me and be part of a solution in a bigger way. And it was an honor of course to join the other amazing speakers, like Dázon Dixon Diallo from Sister Love [link] and Care Resource [link].

I met a ton of peeps and had a chance to get out some great interviews, like with Dan Renzi, from the Real World Miami, check out his blog here [link], he’s a peach and we had a blast! I’m sure a bunch of these interviews will be hitting the net soon so be on the lookout!

On the closing day I spoke at a lunch put on by the National Minority AIDS council (NMAC) [link] and it was truly a moving day. I brought in some slides from my past and present and shared about my experiences being poz and being a role model. The audience feedback was great and hopefully I inspired some people because they definitely inspired me.

The conference was exhausting but totes worth it, next time all you readers should come, I’ll put you in my carry-on!

The Living Positive by Design tour continues in Hot’lanta, GA Oct 16th-19th. Be there.

Then wednesday night Kevin Christiana and I went to the spectacular Pose For a Cure [link] show in midtown hosted by none other than the fabulous Melanie B. Spice up your life? Yes please! She is gorger than gorge! The event was a fashion show to raise money and awareness for breast cancer, put on by The Susan G. Komen Organization [link]. I chatted with ProRun season 2 winner, Chloe Dao who looked fabulous, of course! She is busy with her store and various projects, including working with QVC so check that out. The hilarious Robert Verdi was also in attendance and I even got some one on one time with the gracious Mel B who pretended that she knew who I was. So gracious!

Everything at Pose for the Cure was pink pink pink: the dresses, the drinks, the desserts, the rosy cheeks of New York’s tipsy fashionistas! Elle Woods would have given it major snaps. Chloe donated 2 scrumptious dresses and ProRun season 1 winner, Jay McCarroll, donated two totally cute bags to the event to be auctioned. You yourself can even bid on them and other items from the show or buy an adorable tee like Mel B is wearing at PoseFortheCure.org [link].

Now I’m off to design a Wonder Woman costume out of chocolate and a wedding gown out of 4000 Condoms. Choco-condom-couture is the new must-have for fall!!

Kisses.

8 Responses to “Living Positive by Design Officially Launches!”

  1. Wonderful program Jack. Keep up all your positve work.

  2. Are you kidding me about how cute the picture of you and Esera Tuaolo is…wow. He is so cuddly.

  3. Heya Jack —

    I love the program. Is there a way to contact you so that I can have you visit our community with your project?

    Thanks!
    Gerold

  4. Hi Jack
    I just saw you on the Today Show and is quite interested in your scarf. Unfortunately this is the first I am hearing about this since I don’t watch too much TV. I am not HIV positive but know many who are living and who have passed but living in my heart.
    I will like to know if you are considering selling the scarf for the cause.
    Congratulations and thank you for keeping the awarness alive.
    Wishing you all the best
    Happy Holidays.
    Felicia

  5. Farahjaan Sheikh Says:

    Hey Jack,

    First of i want to say that you are really a role model. To those who are hiv positive and negative like me. Its stories like your that inspire so many people around the world to live life at the fullest and value it for every moment that it has to offer;
    Keep up the good work.

    Love and Luck form your ever so ardent fan all the way from INDIA

    PS: by the way u were the best and our fav in Project Runway;

    love u jack

    fjs

  6. Rickardo Says:

    You are a true star-really. I feel totally inspired after reading about you, your work and experience. I hope that I can incorporate some of your guts and guile going forward!

    I wanted to know, how you keep yourself physically fit-has the HIV affected keeping in shape and energy levels? What is your routine?

  7. Chanuka Says:

    hey that is great of you really like the way u have explained and most of all ur encouraged .Keep it up boy ! most pple really just give up n die .

  8. Can I just say, this blog is what got me through the day today. Every time I read it, I just get more and more excited about whats next. Very refreshing blog and very refreshing ideas. Im glad that I came across this when I did. I love what youve got to say and the way you say it…

Comments are closed.

