The Chocolate Show NYC 2008

Last night was the fabulous chocolate fashion show which launched the 11th annual Chocolate Show in NYC. The theme this year was super heroes. There were about 20 designers who were paired with pastry chefs and chocolatiers from around the state. I worked with pastry chef Zac Young from Butter. He was dead set on doing Wonder Woman and since it was one of my favorite shows as a kid it wasn’t a hard sell. What mini-gay didn’t want to be Lynda Carter in the 70’s? Please. I’ve been practicing my Wonder Woman transformation spin since I was 3.

The assignment was to create a superhero costume out of chocolate, which I soon found was much easier said than done. I’m all about going big with runway designs so I wanted a FIERCE model. I immediately though of Jaslene Gonzalez from America’s Next Top Model because I knew she would work the runway and she sort of embodies Wonder Woman 2008. And HONEY–she did not disappoint. More on that in a sec.

Jeslene Gonalez Wonder Woman

Jaslene Gonzalez as Wonder Woman

Logistically working with chocolate in a fashion context was a nightmare. Chocolate is not flexible and most superheroes are covered in spandex. Not cute. In the end I made the bodice and the leotard out of a base fabric and we covered the bodice in white chocolate paillettes that were sprayed with red cocoa powder and edible glitter. We velcroed white chocolate stars to her leotard and all over her belt, headband and cuffs. She had chocolate earrings and stars on her boots. Her hair was a massive wig and perched on top of her head was a white chocolate “invisible” jet surrounded by chocolate shooting stars. It was a delicate dance between wanting to get her outfit completed and doing it fast enough so it didn’t melt into a puddle of hot cocoa

Dark Phoenix by Kit Scarbo

Dark Phoenix by Kit Scarbo

before the show.

Poison Ivy by Kevin Christiana

Poison Ivy by Kevin Christiana

Kevin Christiana designed Poison Ivy and Kit Scarbo (formerly Kit Pistol) designed Dark Phoenix. They were equally as fabulous. There were a few broken stars here and there and at one point Jaslene’s earrings melted down her neck but all was right as rain as the show started. If project Runway taught me one thing it’s how to “make it work, lady!”

Then the fierceness began. I ran out from backstage so I could witness her open the show in high glam fashion. As soon as the Wonder Woman theme song started playing and she came out from back stage, the audience squealed with glee. I had made a 9-foot silk georgette red, white and blue cape that flowed endlessly behind her like a parachute. It was simply amazing. Jaslene WORKED IT and looked absolutely gorgeous doing so. She rocked the runway on 6” platform boots like she was running in flats. Zac and I were on the sidelines jumping up and down like we were in a double dutch competition. Everything just totally came together and I want to give special thanks to Jaslene for donating her time. The entire event was a benefit for the Susan G. Komen breast cancer foundation. I love fashion for a cause.

Me and Kit Scarbo

Me and Kit Scarbo

Kit and Kevin’s outfits both looked amazing. Other stunning costumes were Iron Man, who lost a leg plate right out of the gate, Xena Warrior Princess, Barbarella and Bat Woman. All in all I think this year was even more flawless than years prior. However I do not want to see a single piece of chocolate any time soon.

Video of the final walk here.

Me and the goddess

Me and the goddess

closeup

Bat Girl

Bat Girl

Final walk

Final walk

Xenapicture-15picture-5
One Response to “The Chocolate Show NYC 2008”

  1. Hey, Jack. I did makeup on this show, and also we worked on the sideline commentary during the show. (Ha!) All three of you guys did a great job and made this year’s show an amazing experience. Congrats on a job well done!

    — Jason

Comments are closed.

