Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show 2008

Last night was the Victoria’s Secret 2008 Fashion show. I have to say I love this show because it’s the closest thing we have these days to the old era of the supermodels. I long for the days of Linda, Christy and Cindy. When the top girls were just referred to by first name only.

LINDA

LINDA

CHRISTY

CHRISTY

CINDY

CINDY

GISELE

GISELE

That being said, I miss Gisele. VS did not renew her contract this year because she apparently was asking for too much money.  She’s worth every penny. Trust. Instead they tried to feature a handful of other models, namely Adriana Lima, Allessandra Ambrosio ,Marisa Miller, Karolina Kurkova and aussie Miranda Kerr. It wasn’t really working for me. My favorites were Doutzen Kroes, Anna Beatriz Barros and Angela Lindval who is still working it out after a long and fabulous career. Don’t get me wrong–all these women are super-humanly georgeous. But no one can hold a candle to Gisele. On top of that, the show this year was a bit of a disaster. The designs were bizarre and discordant. The silohuettes were unflattering and the several pair of granny panties that went down the runway were just wrong.

The problems started when they opted to ad musical performances to the show. Usher opened the show and took up the center of the runway as the models had to jockey for space and attention. It was most annoying. I want models to work the runway–not blow kisses to the crowd and pat Usher on the head.

The second “act” was even more excruciating. Some guy I’ve never heard of sang “babaloo” about 4000 times until I wanted to punch him in the throat. Marisa Miller strutted out and did look amazing but most of the looks that followed were problematic. Again–it’s a pet peeve of mine when models wave to the crowd and blow air kisses. Ladies–a word of advice–just be fierce. Not showy. Angela Lindval summed it up best when she said “I think I hammed it up too much.” Yes, Angela, you did.

Then they went back stage and interviewed all the models about how they prepared for the show. SNORE. It’s called ‘walking’ people. It’s not that hard. We all do it. I even wear massive rhinestone wings while I vacuum my apartment. They all had various preparations they used before the big event and none of them were interesting in any way shape or form.

The next section of the show was some strange Miami inspired, art deco montrosity. I didn’t get it. And again with the granny panties–printed this time for extra umph. Diddy seemed to like it. He gave them a standing ovation. That should tell you something about the taste level. Maybe GPs are the next big thing. What do I know. All I know is the prints and the colors were a hot mess.

So that was the bad news–from there it improved. In the above video is the “pink” section of the show. This was by far the best part. An all-girl dance group came out and executed a flawless routine in sick platform heels to the Ting Ting’s song “That’s Not My Name”. They were on point the entire time. Below is the Ting Ting’s video. Karolina Kurkova was back stage lipsynching to the whole song. It was one of the best parts of the night.

Then Usher did another number which I fast-forwarded through. I just couldn’t bear it. I did catch a lot of ruffles, flowers and high waisted panties. (GPs for short) This group was OK although it was not without its flaws. The finale was nice with the highlight definitely being Heidi Klum in a giant red sequined bow. She got massive applause and worked it like she was wearing a hair scrunchie rather than a 15 foot bow on her back. All in all the show was a pale comparison the the show last year. Bummer.

Ms. Klum

Ms. Klum

What is Victoria’s Secret? Answer:The show blows.

We miss you supermodels.

FLAWLESS

FLAWLESS

Comments are closed.

