Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Friday the 13th

Opening day at the races.

Opening day at the races.

So it’s official. One day down (well 2 really) and 7 to go. I am already exhausted. Fashion is hard. It’s more fun when I just got to roll my eyes and steal other people’s gift bags but this season I actually have to pay attention and do interviews. Plus, due to the economy,  you can kiss most of the freebies goodbye. VIP only. And I only qualify as MIP (Mildly Important Person). You would think that because of the recession that the designers would be clamoring for free press but some of the PR firms we contacted didn’t even send us the courtesy of a reply email. (See People’s Revolution). I guess some of them are too busy filming fake reality shows about fake jobs at Diane Von Furstenberg. Color me jealous.

Anyway–I walked into the tent and squealed with glee because the overriding theme inside the tents is everything Barbie. There are life-size Barbie dolls and the word BARBIE completely spelled out in actual barbie dolls is the centerpiece. I am anxiously awaiting the Barbie collection on Saturday.

B is for Bitchslap.

B is for Bitchslap.

Just-my-size Barbie for all your Barbie needs.

Just-my-size Barbie for all your Barbie needs.

Duckie Brown Invitation

Duckie Brown Invitation

My first show of the day was Duckie Brown, designed by Steven Cox and Daniel Silver. I had the pleasure of meeting them last season but I couldn’t get an interview this season.

Steven Cox and Daniel Silver

Steven Cox and Daniel Silver

Therefore, since they wouldn’t speak with me directly I feel obliged to mock them ever so slightly. The collection was OK. There were some beautiful tailored coats. My favorite was this charcoal driving jacket with a subtle, tonal giraffe print.

Love the gloves!

Love the gloves!

But all in all it was a yawn. With one exception. The pom-pom hats. I’m sure these were made for the runway effect but they were hilarious. I need one in every color so I can be sure to be punched in the face on my walk home on a daily basis.

Koosh ball couture

Koosh ball couture

Even the model looks ashamed.

The other sad and bizzare item to note that instead of providing some sort of gift bag or even no gift at all, they opted to give everyone a McDonald’s Arch card.

REALLY???

REALLY???

What? It’s like a Starbucks’s card where you can put money on it and use it as a debit card at McD’s. My understanding is that McDonald’s sponsored the show so maybe they were obligated. The really weird thing is that is was accompanied by a sincere sounding note about how Stephen Cox worked at McDonald’s for 4 years. That is something I might keep to myself. Not to sound like a snob, but I cleaned office buildings for 2 summers in high school but I certainly don’t have my vacuuming skills on my resume. It’s particularly odd because the fashion crowd is probably the last group of people to set foot in Mickey-D’s. Though I do enjoy a Big Mac. Then I throw it up.

The highlight of the show was meeting Mark Indelicato from Ugly Betty. He was so sweet and is really into fashion. Cool kid. And I think he is a great role model for young people.

Mark Indelicato of Ugly Betty

Mark Indelicato of Ugly Betty

Next was Charlotte Ronson, who unfortunately has become almost overshadowed by being Samantha Ronson’s sister.

Charlotte Ronson logo

Charlotte Ronson logo

Samantha was DJing and backstage was on lock down before the show because Ms. Lohan was in protective custody. Right before the show started she came out with a gang of security and took her front row seat.

I managed to get one decent pic before being trampled by paparazzi. Literally. To death.

Fire Crotch

Fire Crotch

She looked great although she is very thin and her hair could use a deep conditioner. Apparently she got up before the show was over and went to kiki with Samantha in the DJ booth. I went backstage after the show but it was mayhem and L and S were swept out in a cloud of security with cameras flashing. It was kind of sad to witness. What a life.

Sweet nothings with Sam

Sweet nothings with Sam

Anyway–The Charlotte Ronson show was good. It combined post-war decadence, military details and feminine tailoring. Charlotte has this affinity for shoulder cutouts which I don’t quite get but for the most part I thought the show was interesting.

picture-23

picture-15

picture-14

Charlotte was really cute as she took a bow–but maybe she could have dressed up for the occasion just a smidge?

charllote-final-walk1

Charlotte Ronson with Lindsay

Charlotte Ronson with Lindsay

HOWEVER–Ms. Ronson (Charlotte) definitely gets the award for BEST GIFT BAG so far. Really it’s the only swag bag so far–but I smell a re-gift!!!! Shampoo,conditioner, hairspray and a baby tee. Plus two bottles of nail polish, a Samantha Ronson CD and some eye gel. Too bad my drag days are over.

dscn1063

One Response to “Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Friday the 13th”

  1. Shine heat protecting spray (NOT hairspray!)

Comments are closed.

