Mercedes-Benz fashion week rehash Friday the 13th part deux

BCBG wouldn’t return my email request for a show ticket either. So let me just review the collection in one word. SNORE. It’s too bad because I love BCBG. There were a few great pieces but most of the coats and dresses were oddly tailored and not flattering. Since I was standing in the nose bleed section I couldn’t make out a lot of the details but I can tell you they were not cute from far so they were probably far from cute. I did ADORE the gold metallic leggings on most of the models. I will be wearing them later this week.

BCBGzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

BCBGzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

picture-6

My favorite look from BCBG

My favorite look from BCBG

One of my favorite shows every season San Francisco’s Academy of Art MFA student show. It’s usually really innovative because they don’t have to worry about buyers or price points so they just create their vision and make fashion art. I had the privilege of interviewing all the designers backstage before the collections came out.

Scott McFarland designed a really cool men’s knot wear collection. He said his customer would be the guy who wears Galliano and McQueen so I expected some really out there pieces, but in fact his collection was quite wearable. I didn’t love the light pink and blue color combos but I could see myself wearing much of it–just not head to toe. And the models were HOT. ‘Nuf Said.

Scott with a model

Scott with a model

WOOOF!

WOOOF!

picture-62picture-101picture-132

Next I met Emily Melville and Ivanka Georgieva. Ivanka was the textile designer for Emily’s designs. This was one of my favorite groups.

Emily, Me and Ivanka

Emily, Me and Ivanka

Model Chanel Iman works it!

Model Chanel Iman works it!

Love this print.

Love this print.

Qianya Martin was inspired by the beach–though it must have been a bit of an abstract inspiration because I didn’t get “beach” at all but her pieces we interesting and sculptural. She showed exclusively knits and love the concept of “enveloping herself in comfort.” She was hilarious as well. WERK.

Qianya Martin and me

Qianya Martin and me

With her favorite piece

With her favorite piece

Chanel Iman strutting it on the runway

Chanel Iman strutting it on the runway

I-shan Liou (designer) and Myoung Kim (textiles) had a definate point of view trying to capture the essence of “fire, water, air and earth.” They were very sweet and the textile teqniques were cool but this was my least favorite group. The black and white checked leggings were a total disconnect and I had trouble concentrating on the clothes.

Myoung and I-Shan  (like iPhone)

Myoung and I-Shan (like iPhone)

picture-71

The last pair I chatted with was Heather Howard (designer) and Cat Janky (textiles). I wonder if she knows the Urban definition of the word jank? She might want to rethink that before she starts her own label. Anyway–I really liked their collaboration as well. However I did get the impression that they weren’t the BEST of friends and I wanted a full on Cat-fight. Get it? Her name is Cat? Buh-dum-dum. But I didn’t get it.

Heather was inspired by early photos from the 1900’s. Cool stuff.

me-aa-designers-3

aadesign-6

picture-5

My last show of the day–Praise  Jesus–was Venexiana by Kati Stern, an architect and designer from Hungary. She now lives part time in New York and part time in Venice. I have to admit–she is over-the top fabulous. Her collection was strangely off trend and in your face about her extravagance and use of fur, but I think that being unapologetic about being true to her vision was her point.

I had never heard of Venexiana before last night’s show but I was hopeful when it kicked off with flashing blue lights and music so loud it made the floor shake. The first few looks from the collection were equally impressive with furs so lavish they would make Ivana Trump pee. However, much of the collection bordered on tickity-tack.

The whole collection was very “chi-chi I am better than you” with models stomping down the runway with tight ringlet curls pinned up in a very 1940’s fashion. There were some beautiful gowns but not very timely considering the economy. My favorite looks were the two gowns where you could see clear panty action. Good times.

Kati Stern

Kati Stern

I see London, I see France....

I see London, I see France....

Fur Ball!!

Fur Ball!!

One Response to “Mercedes-Benz fashion week rehash Friday the 13th part deux”

  1. Jack, I am loving reading about Fashion week and wishing upon a star that I was a textile chick there. Keep it coming!

Comments are closed.

