New York Mercedes-Benz Fashion Weekend Recap

Jesus, Mary and Joseph! It’s only been 4.5 days of New York Fall ’09 Fashion Week and I am already in a chiffon induced coma. I don’t know hows these models do it. Oh right, they get paid thousands of dollars to walk up and down and get their make up done. That’s incentive.

SO where was I? I covered the Barbie show. Flawless! I got to chat with Project Runway season 3 alumn, Robert Best, who designed the collector’s Barbie that was given out at the show. I heart him. Foxy too.

Barbie design superstar Robert Best

Barbie design superstar Robert Best

I also attended Andy & Debb, a Korean couple (yes he’s straight) who met at Pratt design school. Their inspiration of a shimmering butterfly was clear.

Debb & Andy

Debb & Andy

Honestly I didn’t know much about these designers before the show but I enjoyed it. There were a few misses–more boring than anything–but they sent out some gorgeous micro-sequined dresses and elegant butterfly wing prints. The butterfly as inspiration has pretty much been single handedly ruined by Mariah but the collection was cohesive and had some very wearable pieces.

picture-143

picture-64

The final look

The final look

The next collection I saw was Herve Leger by Max Azria. Again they denied me a ticket, but I have my ways so I managed to sneak in and grab a seat. I loved the line when it was actually designer by Herve back in the olden days (the 90′) and Azria has kept the basic aesthetic. Basically the dresses are body-hugging, ace-bandage style tube dresses–or variations thereof. Generally, the collection was superb. I could have done without some of the shoulder pads–they seemed like a disconnect. IMHO Herve used to do it better.

picture-163

picture-152

picture-111

Oh–and you wonder how the models walk so well in those ridiculously high heels? Well sometimes they don’t.

Bummer.

Bummer.

picture-222

Then I was treated to watching the Diane Von Furstenburg show from the Jonathan Adler-designed American Express Skybox where floor to ceiling windows offered a great view of the catwalk. I got to meet Johnathan and his partner Simon Doonan at the Barbie show and I have to mention that, along with Ruben and Isabel Toledo, they are one of the most artistically talented couples I can think of.

The talent couple Johnathan Adler and Simon Doonan

The talent couple Johnathan Adler and Simon Doonan

I met some great people – all major fashion fans – who traveled to NYC just to see the shows. They had a memorable experience that included a Q&A and private trunk show with jewelry designer Philip Crangi. I may have stuffed a few pieces into my bag when no one was looking. It was dark in there after all . The view from the skybox was fab and I managed to chug a diet coke to keep me going for the rest of the day. Fashion week is the best diet EVER!

The view from the skybox

The view from the skybox

Now anyone who knows me knows that DVF is one of my absolute favorite designers of all time. You can slice bread on her cheekbones. She looks flawless and she is the goddess of textile prints. However this show was not your typical DVF.

“It’s about survival,” said von Furstenberg at her studio a few days before the show, adding that, for fall, her girl is “a nomad. Everywhere she goes, she fits in.” By that, she must’ve been referring to the endless layering, mixing and matching possibilities she provided because, worn together, these clothes were the stand-out, look-at-me sort. The general look reminded me of classic Anna Sui. Lots of textures and layers for a warm, sophisticated look with a homey feeling. Almost every model was adorned with a multi-pom pom hat. They were fun and worked much better than those seen at Ducki Brown. I miss the uberglam Diane but it’s nice to see a designer adapt to the economy in a realistic way.

picture-212

picture-201

picture-191

picture-232

PLUS!!! I got to meet Alison Brie who plays Trudy Campbell on Mad Men. She was a doll. And Gorgeous!!

alison-brie-at-amex

After DVF I rushed downtown to see Twinkle by Wenlan.

picture-242

The Classic Car Club was set up like on old drive-in movie with and old Audrey Hepburn movie playing on screen. Very cool. I had the priviledge of interviewing Wenlan before the show and she said her collection is “very girly, 1960’s inspired with a modern twist.” She was extemely nice and the collection looked really wearable. Lots of fabulous chunky knits. She had the models come out in typical runway style and then stand and pose by the cars so you could get a close up look at all the pieces. I loved the format and the entire presentaion.

Wenlan putting the final touches on a model

Wenlan putting the final touches on a model

Twinkle models backstage. LOVED THEM!

Twinkle models backstage. LOVED THEM!

3 looks from Twinkle

3 looks from Twinkle

From Twinkle I dashed back out into the cold to see the Tim Hamilton installation. I like his clothes–although I can never fit into any of them–but again I am a sucker for menswear designers and male models. Although the models are so young now I’m beginning to feel like a lecherous old troll as I ogle them and take photos. Oh well. It’s all in the name of fashion.

Tim Hamilton installation

Tim Hamilton installation

I went to his show last season and it’s cool because the models just chill and even drink beer and chat with each other. The clothes are hip and well tailored though they do look better on a slim guy.

picture-30picture-291

picture-282picture-261

Monday the 16th we are shooting live video for LOGO’s PopLab and we have interviews with Carlos Miele, Robert Best, John Bartlett, Russian designer Alexander Terekhov (assuming he speaks english), and Tony Cohen from Amsterdam. We wanted to get an interview with Jill Stuart but we were snubbed. Again.


Comments are closed.

