New York Fashion Week. Michael Kors and 1909 Victorinox

I was really looking forward to the Michael Kors show. I have not seen him in forever and I was supposed to have a brief pre-show interview with him but when I arrived his PR team had already packed up the check-in. Oh well. I figured I would try for post-show. Right. Not.

The show was excellent. I know that everyone is talking recession doom and gloom but you couldn’t tell from the Kors collection. First of all he did not scrimp on the models. He had some of the top girls right from the get-go. Carmen Cass, Frankie Rayder, Chanel Iman, Raquel Zimmerman, Coco Rocha and my FAVE model of the moment, Tanya Dziahileva.

Model Tanya Dziahileva
Model Tanya Dziahileva

Model Frankie Rayder

Model Frankie Rayder

One thing that Michael does extremely well is style an entire head-to toe look. With many designers I like certain pieces but not a full look. Kors models look as if the could walk right off the runway and onto an awaiting private jet.

Carmen Cass and her accessory.

Carmen Cass and her accessory.

The show started with black wool and cashmere luxurious pieces that were soon infused with neon green accents followed by grey and white tweeds and leathers. He moved onto a more neutral mid section with tans and olive fabrics and furs. Neon green, pink and orange were scattered throughout.

Watch the whole show here. Click the PLAY tab.

I was green with envy.

I was green with envy.

Michael's final walk

Michael's final walk

I went backstage after the show but Michael was MOBBED by press. I just stood in the corner waiting for a moment but it never happened. INSTEAD I chatted with Jane Krakowski from 30 Rock and various Broadway productions. She was SO nice. She is my new BFF and Nicole Richie is out. I’m fickle like that.

The lovely and HILARIOUS Jane Krakowski.

The lovely and HILARIOUS Jane Krakowski.

Then Heidi Klum arrived backstage with a throng of press and madness ensued. She is always very kind to me so I applaud her for that especially since she is constantly hounded. She always takes time to kiss kiss and say “hi”.

dscn1251

On the contrary my reception from Ms. Kors was quite chilly. When I finally approached him he said, “Oh, hi.” and stuck out his hand. I thought that was strange. I know we are not bosom buddies but we did go through quite an experience together. Anyway–I will assume he was just exhausted and OVER it at that point.

Since I couldn’t really get face time with Michael I got the next best thing: his adorable mom Joan Kors.

The fabulous Joan Kors

The fabulous Joan Kors

Done with that madness I headed over to the New York Public Library for the 1909 Victorinox menswear collection by Pierre-Henri Mattout. He’s super handsome and really cool. I enjoyed chatting with him immensely. Victorinox/Swiss Army was founded 125 years ago so Pierre-Henri is modernizing the collection by designing a more cutting edge younger line. It’s his second season as Creative Director and I loved the collection.

Designer Pierre-Henri Mattout. Sorry he has a husband.

Designer Pierre-Henri Mattout. Sorry he has a husband.

He told me he was inspired by the Amish rumspringa where adolescents explore the world and decide if Amish life is right for them after their worldly adventures. The looks were a combination of comfort, function and fashion. Below are some of my favorite looks.

picture-153

picture-144

picture-122

I was backstage for about and hour before the show and I just want to mention one thing. The models were all flawless of course but there was one kid named Jamie Jewitt from VNY models who was REDIC. Most of the models are straight now and when you hear them talk you remember that they are 19 but it’s fun to imagine. Anyway–Book him. He’s gorgeous. Call me Jamie.

Jamie Jewitt at Victorinox

Jamie Jewitt at Victorinox

more Jamie.

more Jamie.

Also 1909 Victorinox gets the award for BEST INVITATION so far. It was printed on a piece of wood. Very cool.

got wood?

got wood?

2 Responses to “New York Fashion Week. Michael Kors and 1909 Victorinox”

  1. Oh my god I love jamie he is so cute-loved him for ages!
    Xxx
    Great blog!!

  2. Thanks that was a great post!

Comments are closed.

