Coming CORRECT in Genre Magazine 1993

GENRE cover issue #12

GENRE cover issue #12

Holy Crap! A blast from the past. The most amazing thing happened to me 2 nights ago that totally made my week. My friend John David Robbins who works at Genre Magazine had been perusing ancient issues from the archives and he was flipping through issue number 12 from June/July of 1993 and he found a photo shoot I did back when I was 23.  It took him a second to recognize me but he was like, “Isn’t that Jack Mackenroth?”  I hadn’t seen the photos in over 10 years and I peed my Aussiebums on the spot.  I actually can’t believe I am revealing them to the public, but they are too priceless. Now remember this was before photoshop so give me a break. I recall the shoot like it was yesterday. It was shot with a 2 dollar budget and it was one of my first modeling jobs. Back then models were reticent about appearing in a gay magazine. Oh the horror!! The photos are so quintessentially 90’s. My hair is a human atrocity. And the clothes. GOD. Oh well. Not a good fashion moment for me or the world but I still look pretty good now considering that was 16 years ago. Work the Calvin Klein linen honey!

LOOK MOM! I'M A CENTERFOLD

LOOK MOM! I'M A CENTERFOLD

MY ASYMETRICAL BOB IS FIERCE! I need a barrette.

MY ASYMETRICAL BOB IS FIERCE! I need a barrette.

I have so much make-up on I look like a tranny. WERK!!

SHOULDERPADS!!! HOW VERY FALCON CREST.

SHOULDERPADS!!! HOW VERY FALCON CREST.

I love that he found this. It’s hilarious. Thanks JD!!!  Genre has come a long way. Those first few issues were way ghetto. But they are a great slice of gay history. It is interesting to think that I was already HIV positive back then. I was looking through the rest of the issue and there was a page on AIDS treatment at the time. It’s scary because there was really nothing available. AZT was controversial, D4T was moderately effective and protease inhibitors were not even approved yet. They eventually proved to be a literal lifesaver for many people. We have certainly come a long way in that arena as well. Thank god.

AIDS meds of 1993.

AIDS meds of 1993.

5 Responses to “Coming CORRECT in Genre Magazine 1993”

  1. These are fantastic, I love those Angelina pouty Lips! Still hottttttttttttttt Jack Mack.

  2. sarah jo Says:

    I totally remember these…especially the one with the vest…I think mom sill has this…it’s probably lamenated.

  3. Wow- you know when tthe dog cocks his head when hes thinking …haha
    thanks for sharing – you look hot in a really old outdated way

  4. The last photo is very Sonny Crockett. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Gorge!
    You Worked it, Honey!

Comments are closed.

