Outgames Copenhagen 2009

Jack Mackenroth Celebrates World Outgames Medals

Jack Mackenroth Celebrates World Outgames Medals Jack Mackenroth Celebrates World Outgames MedalsJack Mackenroth is not only a popular fashion designer and hot reality TV star, he’s also a successful World Outgames 2009 swimming competitor, having taken home a staggering eight medals from this year’s games held in in Copenhagen.

Jack took home two gold medals; one in the 50-meter freestyle with close to a personal best time of 26.63, and the second in a 4 x 50 freestyle relay. He also won silvers in the 50-meter breaststroke, the 100-meter freestyle, and the 4 x 50 and 4 x 100 medley relays. Additionally, he won two bronze medals in the 100-meter breaststroke and the 200-meter individual medley.

“I was really not expecting to win medals in all eight of my events,” said Mackenroth. “Needless to say, I’m ecstatic. However, it’s not just about winning medals. One of the most fun events was the Random Rainbow Relay where the meet organizers randomly picked swimmers from all different teams and we swam in a friendly relay with colored rainbow swim caps. It was a great way to meet swimmers from different countries.”

Jack Mackenroth Celebrates World Outgames MedalsWith over 900 swimmers competing, swimming is definitely the most popular sport. Several European National records were set during the course of the meet. The event was held in a 50-meter Olympic size pool, which is daunting to many Americans who are usually used to 25-yard pools. “I was most concerned about my first race, the 200-meter individual medley, because it was my longest distance and I have been out of the pool for two years since Project Runway. I’ve been lifting weights but it’s no substitute for endurance training. I only started training seriously in the pool about six weeks ago. So when I won a bronze medal I was shocked.”

To learn more about Jack Mackenroth or the World Outgames 2009, please visit www.jackmackenroth.com and www.copenhagen2009.org.

2 Responses to “Outgames Copenhagen 2009”

  1. Dear Jack – I would like to sincerely THANK YOU for all you are doing on behalf of many of us living with HIV. As an HIV positive individual – I too consider myself to have a positive outlook and life and truly admire your input and strong encouragement through your campaigning on fighting stigma…indeed you are not alone my dear – please consider that many of us get some chances to speak up and speak laudly on all issues related to living with HIV and more importantly the “stigma” that have done so much damage to those that cannot speak for themselves, for whatever reason (s).

    I hope someday meet you in person, and if you ever interested in coming to visit Boston, Massachusetts (‘am sure you probably already had), you have here a peer and a friend that would love to show you two wonderful places that serve our community; one is the Boston Living Center and I will provide you below with each of the links that will give you a much better idea on why these places have a special place in my heart. The other is the agency where I currently work; http://www.LHI.org – our site is not that much interactive, but will give you a general idea on our work for the latino community. The following are couple of links that will tell you who I am and perhaps tell you that I do identify with you rmission in many ways, please when you get chance review the following links:

    http://www.bethegeneration.nih.gov/go/community-voices/alfredo-boston

    http://hivstopswithus.org/en/AlfredoH

    I do wish you the best in all you do and please know that I admire and respect very much your work and efforts battling stigma and the many related HIV issues that affects all of us living with HIV. And yes, keep it undetectable…I have for the last 6 years…keeping my fingers crossed that will stay that way for much longer.

    Sincerely – Alfredo Hernandez – alfredo.hernandez@lhi.org
    Be well and good luck!!!

  2. ooops forgot to include the Boston Living Center’s website, here you have: http://www.livingcenter.org

    Be well – and have an enjoyable day 😉

    Alfredo Hernandez

Comments are closed.

